Skip to page content

Calendar > 25 Years of Winners: The Wallace Art Award Paramount Award Winners 1992 - 2016

25 Years of Winners: The Wallace Art Award Paramount Award Winners 1992 - 2016

2016 marked the 25th Annual Wallace Art Awards.

An exhibition to commemorate this milestone, featuring the 25 Paramount Award Winners will be on display at the Wallace Gallery in Morrinsville available to view from the 6th of October through to the 26th of November.

The Annual Wallace Art Awards was started by Sir James Wallace in 1992 to encourage the visual arts in New Zealand and in particular to reward those producing outstanding work with residencies and educational grants as well as to give artists exposure to the public by way of exhibitions. The Awards are the longest surviving and largest annual art awards of their kind in New Zealand, with a value amounting to over $220,000.

The Awards began with just one Paramount prize and have since grown to encompass four major prizes of international residencies and three other monetary prizes. The judges change each year and consist of a panel of practitioners, institution leaders, past winners and academics.

Almost all of the winners were emerging artists at the time they won and have since gone on to establish very successful careers in the arts. Most have received great critical acclaim and have enjoyed acquisitions by major collections both in New Zealand and overseas.

A floor talk about the exhibition with gallery director Justin Morgan is available to attend on Sunday the 5th of November at 11am, presented in association with the seventh annual Morrinsville Arts Festival.

Share this event


  • Fri Oct 6 - Sun Nov 26 2017

Opening times

Tuesday - Sunday,
10am - 4pm


Wallace Gallery Morrinsville
167 Thames Street

Ticket Information



General admission


Eliza Webster
Phone 07 889 7791

167 Thames Street, Morrinsville, New Zealand
View large map

Visit website

View other listings by
Wallace Gallery Morrinsville