Skip to page content

Suggest a news story News > First meeting of Coromandel Arts and Creative Industries Advisory Board

First meeting of Coromandel Arts and Creative Industries Advisory Board 20 December, 2016

The Coromandel Arts and Creative Industries Advisory Board met for the first time on 9 December 2016. The establishment of the Board comes as one of the actions to advance the Coromandel Arts and Creative Industries Strategy, which was adopted by Council in June 2016.

"The most important immediate step from the strategy is setting up the Board which creates a clear advocacy body for the arts and creative industries in the Coromandel. The aim of the Board is to implement the community arts strategy in a way that supports the whole district by working better together moving forward," says Scott Summerfield, Strategic Planning Team Leader.

Paul Bradley and Craig McClure from Creative Waikato facilitated a workshop with the Board to explore the roles and potential of the Board. This will be followed up with workshops to create vision and mission statements and a strategic plan. The Board see their role going forward as a way to encourage up and coming artist as well as providing a support function for established and new artists. The arts strategy set out six priority areas of need, expressed by the arts community themselves, which the Board will advance.

"We are looking forward to engaging with the community and creating cohesion and shared success amongst a diverse community of artists with real depth across the Coromandel,"said Chair of the Board Jan Wright.

Community Boards will meet with their local arts communities and tangata whenua in early 2017 to devise community action plans setting out agreed arts priorities for each area. Once the action plans are confirmed, these will inform the strategy of the Board over the coming term.

To read more about the Board, see:

Pictured is the new Coromandel Arts and Creative Industries Advisory Board: L-R: Sarah Holden (Tairua-Pauanui), Ray Neumann (Thames), Paul Heffernan (Thames) Jan Wright - Chairperson  (Mercury Bay), John Eaglan - Deputy Chairperson (Coromandel-Colville), Mapuna Turner (Hauraki Maori Trust Board), John Norris (Whangamata), Terry Walker (Whangamata), Diane Connors (TCDC Elected Member Representative) and Jane Parson (Mercury Bay)

Back to news

Sign up to the Creative Waikato e‑newsletter for the latest news and events