Jump to content

Nau mai,
haere mai

Kōkiri nei te tū tangata mo ngā iwi katoa.

To strengthen a unified stance for all people in our communities.

Who we are

Creative Waikato is a non-profit organisation that’s been doing good things to help the arts, support the community, and make creative things happen since 2012.

We develop, support and champion Waikato arts and culture by understanding the unique needs of our bold and ambitious creative sector. Collaborating with national and regional organisations, individuals, councils, and communities to drive positive change, opportunity, and growth in arts, culture and creativity throughout our mighty region.

Some of the stuff we get up to is:

Advice, training and support

Developing capability and resources

Connecting and creating opportunities

Storytelling and sharing

Promoting and celebrating mahi in the arts

Advocating for arts, creativity, and cultural wellbeing

Which builds
toward our vision:

Waikato prospers
with diverse and
creative activity

We want arts, culture and creativity.
Everywhere. All the time.

And informs
who we are:

Navigators who lead the elevation of creativity in our region and collaborate to provide opportunities for cultural wellbeing

We’re grounded by four pou (pillars) which guide our mahi



We help you succeed through advice, training and support.



We connect you with the right people and places for stronger creative outcomes.



We share stories far and wide and drive engagement with creative activity.



We stand up for arts, culture and creativity as they are essential to the wellbeing of our region.

How we are funded

To do what we do, we’re grateful to have the generous support from our community.

What our funding looks like:

Primary Funder
Core Funders

Our region

We’re Waikato proud, with open arms that extend across the mighty region.


Aligning with the traditional Māori boundaries of Tainui — Waikato, Raukawa, Maniapoto and Hauraki iwi.

  • Waikato
  • Raukawa
  • Maniapoto
  • Hauraki

Local Government

The mahi we do currently flows through:

  • Kirikiriroa/Hamilton City
  • Thames-Coromandel District
  • Hauraki District
  • Matamata-Piako District
  • South Waikato District
  • Waipā District
  • Waikato District
  • Ōtorohanga District
  • Waitomo District
  • Ruapehu District

Want to find out more? Get in touch.